Retaking a survey
Click the Security tab and select an option under When a respondent takes your survey a second time.
This setting controls the behavior of a survey and/or data collection when someone returns to a survey after having submitted a response. For example, you can use this setting to allow respondents to retake a survey and overwrite the first set of results.
The following are the options in this group:
- Refuse to start the questionnaire - When a user tries to take the survey a second time, they will receive a message saying they have already responded to the survey and they are not allowed to continue.
- Allow the respondent to take the survey again but don't save the results - A user will be able to take and submit the survey again but their subsequent results will not be saved (although it will appear to the user that they are).
- Allow the respondent to take the survey again and overwrite the first set of results - A user will be able to take and submit the survey again but each result will overwrite the previous result.
- Allow the respondent to take the survey as many times as they want and keep all results - All responses from the respondent will be kept even if it is a repeat response. This is the default setting.
- Require login and allow the respondent to edit past answers - Users will be asked to create a login account before taking the survey. They can use the account to edit their answers. For more details, see the article Requiring a login to edit answers.
NOTES: This setting also enables you to prevent ballot-stuffing which is the repeated taking of one survey by one or more individuals whose goal is to skew the results.
For more information about how Vista knows if a person has already submitted a response, see the settings for Identify repeat respondents by: on the Security tab.